Friday, 6 January 2012

Who should win the 2011 Fifa Ballon d'Or?

Ballon d'or
Ballon d'or
On Monday January 9 in Zurich, the best player in the world for 2011 will be crowned.

For a third year in a row, the Fifa Ballon d'Or - previously just the Ballon d'Or - is dominated by players who ply their craft in Spain's La Liga.

Reigning world player of the year Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Argentina, last year's second runner-up Xavi of Barcelona and Spain, and 2008 winner Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Portugal are the three nominees for the 2011 award ... the same three finalists in the 2009 edition.
But who will emerge triumphant this time around? Can Messi join an illustrious list of legends such as Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini and Marco van Basten and become a three-time winner, and only the second player ever after Platini to claim it three years in succession?

Will Ronaldo win the award for the second time in his career, or will he have to settle for second-place for a third occasion? Or will Xavi finally be anointed as the best in the world for the first time?


Messi Ronaldo

2007: Third
2008: Second
2009: Winner
2010: Winner
2007: Second
2008: Winner
2009: Second

2009: Third
2010: Third

No comments:

Post a Comment